The role of the Lieutenant Governor has been in existence since before Alberta became a province.

Alberta's Lieutenant Governors, in reverse order:

2020-  The Honourable Salma Lakhani

Salma Lakhani was installed as Alberta’s 19th Lieutenant Governor on August 26, 2020. Her longstanding service as a community leader and volunteer has been guided by her deep commitment to the values of pluralism and inclusion and her dedication to championing those who face barriers in life.

2015-2020  The Honourable Lois E. Mitchell

Lois Mitchell began her tenure as Lieutenant Governor on June 12, 2015. She came to the role following a long career as a businesswoman and service as a member of Alberta's dedicated corps of community volunteers.

2010-2015    Colonel (Ret'd) the Honourable Donald S. Ethell

Lieutenant Governor Ethell’s Vice-Regal tenure came following a long and distinguished career as a highly decorated officer of the Canadian armed forces as well as civilian service as a military advisor and volunteer with humanitarian causes.

2005-2010    The Honourable Norman L. Kwong

Alberta’s first Lieutenant Governor of Chinese heritage. His 13 year football career included four Grey Cups and over 30 CFL records. After retiring from football he enjoyed a successful career in business and real estate.

2000-2005    The Honourable Lois E. Hole

A successful businesswoman, best-selling author, education advocate, and community supporter. She also served as U of A Chancellor and was the second woman in Alberta's history to be Lieutenant Governor.

1996-2000    The Honourable H.A. "Bud" Olson

Horace Andrew "Bud" Olson was a farmer, rancher, and merchant who also served as a Member of Parliament and federal Minister of Agriculture before becoming a Canadian Senator.

1991-1996    The Honourable T. Gordon Towers

A farmer who also served as a Member of Parliament for 16 years and as a leader in community affairs in his hometown of Red Deer and at the provincial level.

1985-1991    The Honourable W. Helen Hunley

The first woman to be appointed Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, the first woman to be given full ministerial status in the Alberta government, and Alberta’s first Solicitor General.

1979-1985    The Honourable Frank C. Lynch-Staunton

Known primarily as a rancher, he also served throughout the 1930s with the South Alberta Horse and later as a Councillor for Municipal District #9 (Pincher Creek).

1974-1979    The Honourable Ralph G. Steinhauer

The first person of Indigenous heritage to be appointed Lieutenant Governor in Canada.  Was a founding member of the Alberta Wheat Pool and was active in politics and Aboriginal affairs.

1966-1974    The Honourable J.W. Grant MacEwan

Was well-known as an agriculturalist and historian. He also served as Mayor of Calgary, as an MLA, and as Leader of the Alberta Liberal party.

1959-1966    The Honourable J. Percy Page

Was a teacher and coach of the famous Edmonton "Grads" women's basketball team prior to taking the office. Also served as an MLA and Leader of the Opposition.

1950-1959    The Honourable John J. Bowlen

A rancher, farmer, and Member of the Legislative Assembly prior to becoming Lieutenant Governor. Alberta's oldest serving Lieutenant Governor, who died in office at the age of 83.

1937-1950    The Honourable John C. Bowen

The only clergyman to hold the office to date and also the longest serving. He was the only Alberta Lieutenant Governor to decline Royal Assent and the last to live in Government House.

1936-1937    The Honourable Colonel Philip C.H. Primrose

Enjoyed a distinguished career with the North-West Mounted Police prior to his appointment. He was the first Lieutenant Governor of Alberta to die in office and his was the first state funeral in Alberta history.

1931-1936    The Honourable William L. Walsh

A lawyer by trade, his tenure is associated with a minor constitutional problem created when Premier John E. Brownlee failed to name a successor upon his resignation. The Government Caucus chose Richard Reid but he refused to accept this choice until Mr. Reid was able to prove his ability by forming a Cabinet.

1925-1931    The Honourable Dr. William Egbert

Was a medical doctor and Calgary City Councilman prior to his appointment.  Following his service as Lieutenant Governor, he joined a grassroots movement organized to oppose Social Credit.

1915-1925    The Honourable Dr. Robert G. Brett

Was a medical doctor, member of the Northwest Territories Legislative Assembly, and a newspaper publisher before becoming Lieutenant Governor.

1905-1915    The Honourable George H.V. Bulyea

Alberta’s first Lieutenant Governor and the youngest person appointed to that office, at the age of 47. Credited with playing an important role in the early history of Alberta.

Former Lieutenant Governors of the Northwest Territories:

1898-1905    The Honourable Amedee E. Forget

1898             The Honourable Malcolm C. Cameron

1893-98        The Honourable Charles H. MacKintosh

1888-93        The Honourable Joseph Royal

1881-88        The Honourable Edgar Dewdney

1876-81        The Honourable David Laird